Business Standard
You are here » Home » Mahabal-mishra


A member of the Indian National Congress (INC), Mahabal Mishra started his political career in 1997 as a Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) counciflor from the Dabri ward in West Delhi. He was subsequently elected to the Delhi Legislative Assembly thrice and the Lok Sabha once.
He was first elected to the Delhi Assembly in the election held in 1998 from the Nasirpur seat. He got re-elected from the same seat in 2003, and won from the Dwarka seat in the 2008 Assembly election. In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress fielded him from the West Delhi constituency, in which he defeated his nearest rival, the Bharatiya Janata Party’s (BJP’s) Jagdish Mukhi by 129,010 votes.
Born on 31 July 1953 in Bihar, Mishra has done his Intermediate (10+2, Science) and holds a diploma in Transistor Theory from L S College, Muzaffarpur, Bihar.
Positions held by Mahabal Mishra (1997-2009):
1997-98: Councellor, MCD, Delhi
1997-2008: Member, Delhi Development Authority
1998-2003: Member, Delhi Legislative Assembly
2003-2008: Member, Delhi Legislative Assembly (second term)
2008-2009: Member, Delhi Legislative Assembly (third term)
2009: Elected to the 15th Lok Sabha
August 31, 2009: Member, Committee on Petroleum and Natural Gas
Member, Consultative Committee on Home Affairs
Member, Consultative Committee on Power
In the 2020 Delhi Assembly election, Mahabal Mishra’s son Vinay Kumar Mishra is contesting from his old seat of Dwarka on an Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) ticket. He is pitted against the BJP’s Pradyumn Rajput and sitting MLA Adarsh Shastri, who switched over to the Congress after being denied a ticket by the AAP.


No article available in this category.