Business Standard
You are here » Home » IPL Champions


The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a domestic T20 tournament organised by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). IPL is regarded as one of the best and richest T20 tournaments in the world, recording player participation from almost every cricketing nation. India’s franchise-based tournament is governed by the IPL governing council which belongs under BCCI. In the 13 seasons played so far as many as 13 teams – Chennai Super Kings (CSK), Mumbai Indians (MI), Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), Delhi Capitals (Delhi Daredevils), Rajasthan Royals (RR), Punjab Kings (PBKS), Rising Pune Supergiants, Gujarat Lions, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, Sahara Pune Warriors and Deccan Chargers) – have participated. However, five teams are no longer part of the Indian Premier League at present for varied reasons. Kochi Tuskers Kerala was terminated by BCCI for contractual breach in 2011 while the Deccan Chargers franchise was terminated in 2012 for backing off from its commitments.
Read More..