Business Standard
You are here » Home » Arun Jaitley stadium


The Arun Jaitley stadium in Delhi is the second oldest cricket stadium in India. Also known as Ferozeshah Kotla ground, the stadium hosts international, Indian Premier League (IPL) and domestic cricket matches.
It is located on Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, New Delhi, and has a seating capacity of 48,000. 
The stadium was named after Arun Jaitley in 2019 after the veteran BJP leader and former Union minister passed away. The stadium's other name  - Ferozeshah Kotla - has been taken from the 14th century monument situated next to it.
Jaitley is credited with rebuilding the stadium and saving it from losing its international status. Jaitley was the president of Delhi and District Cricket Association (DDCA) from 1999 to 2013.
The first Test match at this venue was played on November 10, 1948, when India took on the West Indies. Since April 2005, India have won 6 games here and lost none.
The Indian cricket team holds a good record at the stadium. As of August 2019, the India national cricket team has been undefeated for over 31 years in Test matches.
Since 2008 the stadium has been the home venue of the IPL team - Delhi Capitals (formerly Delhi Daredevils).
Memorable performances at the stadium:
  1. The ground played host to the India vs Pakistan match in 1999. In the match, Anil Kumble took 10 wickets for 74 runs in an innings.
  2. In 1983, Sunil Gavaskar scored his 29th Test ton at this venue, equalling Sir Donald Bradman's record for the most centuries in Test cricket.
  3. In 2005, Sachin Tendulkar broke Sunil Gavaskar's record of 34 Test centuries, registering his 35th Test ton in the second Test against Sri Lanka at this venue.