Business Standard
You are here » Home » Bundesliga


Germany’s premier football league is called the Bundesliga. The literal translation of the word Bundesliga is federal league. The league consists of 18 teams and they play in the home and away match format. The league operates on a system of promotion and relegation.

Since the league began in 1963, 56 clubs have participated in it. Bayern Munich has won the Bundesliga title 29 times, which is the most among German clubs. Other prominent clubs to have won the title are Borussia Dortmund, Hamburger SV, Werder Bremen, Borussia Mönchengladbach, and VfB Stuttgart. Read More..


No article available in this category.